Throwing my Hat in the Ring

Oh how wonderful it would be to see my work published! I’d love someone out there in the world to open up a book and see something I photographed with my name close by!

One of my former photography professors is creating an organic cookbook. She’s asking for students to enter their food photography with accompanying recipes for a chance at being included.

Here is my entry! My fingers are crossed that I get accepted.

Quick and Hearty Tortilla Soup

Quick and Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

Quick and Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup
Photo by Christina Brunk
www.christinabrunk.com

Time:

Hands On: 20 minutes
Total Time: 20 minutes

Servings:

Makes 6 servings (1-1/3 cups each)

Ingredients:

2 (14 1/2 ounce) cans Eden Organic Diced Tomatoes with Green Chilies
2 (14 1/2 ounce) cans Swanson Organic Chicken Broth
1 (16 ounce) can Eden Organic Pinto Beans
1 (16 ounce) can of Hominy
1/2 cup Corn (fresh, frozen or canned organic)
1 1/2 cups cooked Free Range Certified 100% Organic Chicken Breasts, shredded
2 teaspoons fresh organic Cilantro, chopped
Casa Sanchez Organic Tortilla Chips
Organic Valley Reduced Fat Monterey Jack Cheese, shredded
Organic avocado, sliced

Directions:

1. Combine tomatoes, broth, beans, hominy and corn in medium saucepan.
2. Stir together and bring to a boil.
3. Reduce and bring to a simmer, add chicken and heat through.
4. Turn off heat and stir in cilantro.
5. Top each bowl of soup with cheese and crushed tortilla chips (optional: add avocado slices to top)

