The Shutterbug

img_4698I was given my first camera at the age of 11. It was purple with a yellow ring around the lens. My dad and I spent about an hour practicing how to load film into that little point and shoot. The next day I headed off to Science Camp with half of the six grade class where I bunked with my best friend, Maryanne. I don’t think I put that camera down much at all.

It wasn’t one of those crazy moments where I “found my bliss” though. The camera got put away and I went on my merry way playing in the percussion section and later the drumline in the band.

I rediscovered photography again in my early twenties in Black and White Photography course, where I got to develop my own film and make my own prints in the darkroom. That was it. I was a goner.

img_4745

This beautiful family gave my the honor of capturing their youngest back in July when she was just a week old. Unfortunately, their son had tucked himself in for a nap, so we didn’t get a chance to take any of the family together. We made up for that this past Saturday. =)

img_4725

I love capturing moments like these. That’s the magic of photography. You literally take a moment and freeze it. When it’s long gone, you can look at that single moment and a million memories spring forward. Time stands still forever in a photograph and patiently waits for you to remember.
______________________________

Daniel and Christy's Adoption BlogHoping to Adopt!

Please visit our adoption website and get to know us better! The wider our message goes, the closer we get to finding our baby.

