Photographic Fusion

What’s working lately you ask? That would be multi-image photo assignment for my Advanced Black & White Photography class. Yep, people still use film, but it’s mostly us artsy fartsy types that are clinging to the past. I worked about eight solid hours in the lab and got eight 8x10s prints out of the deal. Art takes time, folks.

I wanted to flesh out a series that I started last spring that centers around infertility and somehow I got it in my mind to use these creepy plastic babies that they carry in party stores.

These prints are made up of two negatives sandwiched together then printed onto one sheet of photo paper. There’s a lot of trial and error that happens trying to get the balance just right (thus, the eight hours in the lab).

And now for your viewing pleasure, creepy babies:

